Hāpai Te Hauora Māori Public Health and the Cancer Society of New Zealand – Te Kahui Matepukupuku o Aotearoa, are delighted to share that we will be presenting the inaugural Dame Tariana Turia Award at the Oceania Tobacco Control Conference 2017.

The Dame Tariana Turia Award will be celebrated alongside the long standing Nigel Grey Award. Dame Tariana is a fearless advocate for tobacco control, a previous co-leader of the Māori Party a political party in New Zealand and a champion for reducing inequalities in Māori smoking rates in New Zealand.The Dame Tariana Turia Award recognises the need for reducing harm within indigenous communities globally.

Nominations can be made for individuals, groups and organisations focused on creating strong tobacco control outcomes for indigenous populations in the Oceania region– Pacific, Maori, Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islanders.

The decision making panel for the award recipient/s are:

  • Anaru Waa
  • Colin Tukuitonga
  • Louisa Ryan
  • Peletina Bennet
  • Tom Calma
  • Viki Biggs TBC
  • Heather Gifford

Applications close 1st September 2017

Find additional information about the Award, including nomination criteria, here. The winning recipient will be presented with the award at the Oceania Tobacco Control Conference 2017 on 17 October.

Tariana Turia Award - nomination form

Nominee Information
(Individual, group, organisation)
Nominator Information
Supporting information
Endorsement 1
Endorsement 2